AFSE Awards > AFSE PhD Awards

The AFSE announced the laureates of the 2023 Best PhD Thesis Award:

AFSE Best PhD Thesis Award

The 2023 AFSE PhD prize has been awarded to Mathilde MUÑOZ for her PhD Dissertation entitled Essays on taxation and international worker mobility in Europe - research carried out at the École des hautes études en sciences sociales (EHESS) and the Paris School of Economics (PSE), under the supervision of Thomas Piketty and defended on June, 21st, 2022.

Mathilde Muñoz, biography

Her PhD Dissertation focuses on the interaction between globalization and redistribution, by studying, with a special focus on Europe, how trade and migration flows respond to international differences in personal taxes and labor market regulations, and by estimating how those flows shape inequalities within and across countries.

More about Mathilde Muñoz


2023 AFSE PhD Prize - Special mentions

The very high quality of the submitted theses also led the jury to award two special mentions to Lydia ASSOUAD and Yohan RENARD.

Lydia’s PhD dissertation entitled Essays on the Political Economy of Development of the Middle East was carried out at EHESS under the co-supervision of Thomas Piketty and Ekaterina Zhuravskaya.

Lydia Assouad, biography

More about Lydia Assouad


Yohan’s PhD Dissertation entitled Improving Child Health in Sub-Saharan Africa; Three essays in Microeconometrics was carried out at the Université Paris-Dauphine under the supervision of Marta Menéndez and Elodie Djemaï.

Yohan Renard, biography

More about Yohan Renard




Online user: 2 Privacy